I’m going to Haiti!

Hello friends. I’m going to be taking a trip to Haiti during Spring Break this year with the Journalism department at Biola University.

Below is my letter basically asking for money to help me get there. If you feel led to donate and help me out, send the money to the address listed at the bottom.

Thanks.

—–

To whom it may concern,

My name is Job Ang, a photojournalism student from Biola University. I have been given a tremendous opportunity to travel to Haiti as part of a team of journalists. The goal of this trip is to document the stricken country a year after a catastrophic 7.0 magnitude earthquake ripped across the land on January 12, 2010. We want to tell the unheard stories of people otherwise unheard from. We want to see the steps Haiti has taken to rebound, and to document the existence of hope in a place that shouldn’t have reason to hope.

I will be going with a team of approximately 20 other students to report on Haiti and recount the experiences of individuals still struggling to rebound a year after disaster struck their lives. Going in as a photographer, I am excited to experience this environment from behind the lens. It’s a wholly new experience for me personally, as I have thus far only photographed events and people close to home. Haiti seems to exist in an entirely separate world, with all the images and media coming out of the country appearing to be utterly alien. The truth is, they share this planet with us. They are human beings, just like us. The only thing differentiating us from them is a comfortable home and possibly a few extra luxuries like clean water and the clothes on our backs. As I write from the comforts of home, I am hopeful that this trip will open my eyes to their world. And by proxy, I hope those who see the results of our journalistic endeavors (which will culminate in a published book) will also have their eyes opened and be moved.

The story of Haiti is still unfolding, even after all the mainstream media attention has died down.  A year later, our neighbors still need help. My heart is beginning to ache for them.

That’s where we all come in.

The trip will require some funding to account for airfare, food logistics, amongst other things. We are slated to be going there with The Apparent Project, a non-profit organization dedicated empowering beleaguered Haitians. Information on the organization can be found at their website: http://www.apparentproject.org/.

The financial goal is $1700. If at all you feel led to help us out in any way, please let me know and we can work something out.

I would be greatly appreciative.

Thanks everyone,
Job Ang
919-3438
13800 Biola Ave. Box 415
La Mirada, CA 90639

Leave a Reply

